How to setup a Cisco VPN Client on CentOS 5.3

October 25, 2009

This blog post deals with VPNC (http://www.unix-ag.uni-kl.de/~massar/vpnc/) : an alternative to Cisco’s linux version client.  If you happy with cisco’s client and were able to install it successfully then you can skip the rest of the blog. 

Most of the information can be found at original sources http://wiki.centos.org/AdditionalResources/Repositories/RPMForge  and http://wiki.centos.org/HowTos/vpnc 

Only issue you might face is installing yum prorities using yum. That is broken in CentOS 5.3 (atleast til I tried). So here are the steps involved. 

1) Install Yum Prorities

Install prorities using rpm instead of yum.

wget http://mirror.centos.org/centos-5/5.3/os/i386/CentOS/yum-priorities-1.1.16-13.el5.centos.noarch.rpm    
rpm -ivh yum-priorities-1.1.16-13.el5.centos.noarch.rpm
                     
2) Check if plugin is enabled (see http://wiki.centos.org/AdditionalResources/Repositories/RPMForge for details)

nano /etc/yum/pluginconf.d/priorities.conf

3) Update Proirities for repo files

nano /etc/yum.repos.d/CentOS-Base.repo

4) Install rpm forge

wget http://apt.sw.be/redhat/el5/en/x86_64/RPMS.dag/rpmforge-release-0.3.6-1.el5.rf.x86_64.rpm
rpm –import http://dag.wieers.com/rpm/packages/RPM-GPG-KEY.dag.txt
rpm -K rpmforge-release-0.3.6-1.el5.rf.x86_64.rpm
rpm -i rpmforge-release-0.3.6-1.el5.rf.x86_64.rpm

5) Update prority for rpmforge repo file

nano /etc/yum.repos.d/rpmforge.repo

6) Update yum to start using priorirites and rpmforge as source.

yum check-update

7) install VPNC

yum -y install vpnc

Now vpnc is installed.  Follow http://wiki.centos.org/HowTos/vpnc to know how to use it.

26 Responses to “How to setup a Cisco VPN Client on CentOS 5.3”


  1. […] un commento Vai ai commenti installazione e l'utilizzo vpnc: un client VPN su Linux From: N Rao Lakkakula’s Blog. Continue reading. Categorie:Senza categoria Tag: Commenti (0) Trackbacks (0) Lascia un […]


  2. Very soon this site will be famous amid all blogging people,
    due to it’s good articles


  3. Wait around arent you in thailand as well? Pulling the identical ballin’ shit as Dupre?

  4. Dewey Says:

    Excellent goods from you, man. I’ve understand your stuff previous to and you’re just extremely wonderful.
    I actually like what you’ve acquired here, certainly like what you are saying and the way in which you say it. You make it entertaining and you still care for to keep it wise. I can’t wait to read much more from you.
    This is actually a tremendous website.


  5. I rarely comment, but after looking at a lot of remarks on this page How to setup a Cisco VPN Client on CentOS 5.
    3 | N Rao Lakkakula’s Blog. I actually do have 2 questions for you if you do not mind. Is it just me or does it look like like some of these remarks look like they are left by brain dead people? :-P And, if you are posting at additional social sites, I’d like to
    follow anything new you have to post. Could you post a list of every one of all your public sites like your twitter
    feed, Facebook page or linkedin profile?


  6. Magnificent web site. A lot of helpful info here.
    I am sending it to some friends ans additionally sharing in delicious.
    And obviously, thank you for your effort!


  7. I enjoy what you guys tend to be up too. Such clever work and exposure!

    Keep up the good works guys I’ve incorporated you guys to our blogroll.

  8. Malinda Says:

    Interesting blog! Is your theme custom made or did you download it from somewhere?
    A design like yours with a few simple tweeks would really make my
    blog stand out. Please let me know where you got your design.
    Kudos

  9. Kelvin Says:

    Thank you for some other informative site. The place else could
    I get that type of information written in such
    a perfect way? I have a project that I’m just now working on, and I have been on the look out for such information.


  10. Hello to all, how is everything, I think every one is getting more from this site, and your views are nice designed for new users.


  11. It’s a shame you don’t have a donate button! I’d most certainly donate to this fantastic blog! I suppose for now i’ll settle for bookmarking and adding your RSS
    feed to my Google account. I look forward to brand
    new updates and will talk about this blog with my Facebook group.
    Talk soon!


  12. I’ve been surfing online more than 3 hours lately, yet I by no means found any interesting article like yours. It is lovely price sufficient for me. In my opinion, if all web owners and bloggers made excellent content material as you did, the net will likely be much more useful than ever before.


  13. My partner and I absolutely love your blog and find almost all of your post’s to be exactly what I’m looking
    for. can you offer guest writers to write content for yourself?
    I wouldn’t mind publishing a post or elaborating on some of the subjects you write concerning here. Again, awesome weblog!


  14. Thanks for sharing your thoughts on free baby shower games.
    Regards


  15. In case you face problem in going up and down through stairway
    or face other accessibility issues afterward Acorn supplies
    you an affordable alternative to such issues.

    Sometimes safety is really in the non-process.


  16. Thanks for your personal marvelous posting! I truly enjoyed reading it, you will be
    a great author. I will be sure to bookmark your blog and will often come back someday.
    I want to encourage you continue your great work, have a nice morning!

  17. Maureen Says:

    I enjoy what you guys are usually up too.
    This sort of clever work and coverage! Keep up the very good works guys I’ve incorporated you guys to blogroll.


  18. Hello there, just became alert to your blog through Google,
    and found that it’s really informative. I’m gonna
    watch out for brussels. I will appreciate if
    you continue this in future. Many people will be benefited
    from your writing. Cheers!

  19. Cms websi Says:

    Hello, I desire to subscribe for this webpage to take newest updates, so where can i do it please help.


  20. It’s great that you are getting thoughts from this post as well as from our discussion made at this time.

  21. Wilda Says:

    I was very happy to uncover this website. I wanted to thank you for your time for this particularly fantastic read!!
    I definitely appreciated every little bit of it and I have you saved to fav to check out new information in your site.

  22. earn Says:

    After going over a handful of the blog posts on your web page, I truly appreciate
    your way of writing a blog. I book marked it to my bookmark website list and will be checking back in the near future.
    Please visit my web site too and tell me what you think.


  23. This is really interesting, You’re a very skilled blogger.
    I have joined your rss feed and look forward to seeking more of your excellent
    post. Also, I have shared your site in my social networks!


  24. I blog frequently and I seriously thank you for your information. The article has really peaked my interest.
    I am going to take a note of your website and keep checking for new details about once a week.
    I subscribed to your Feed as well.

  25. Angelica Says:

    Unquestionably believe that which you stated. Your favorite
    justification seemed to be on the internet the easiest thing to
    be aware of. I say to you, I definitely get annoyed while people think about worries that they plainly do not know about.

    You managed to hit the nail upon the top and defined out the
    whole thing without having side-effects , people can take a signal.
    Will likely be back to get more. Thanks


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

